Futurearth works with a missonary zeal with a corporate feel. It's vision is lead by a group of eminent professionals from different backgrounds with deep commitment for environment.

T.N. Dhar
IAS (Retd) - Chairman

A retired Indian Administrative Service Officer of the UP cadre, has held important positions in the Government including those of Secretary Planning, Home, Forest, Hill Development etc. Has also Chaired Finance Commission (UP), Sangeet Natak Academy (UP) and Banking Recruitment Commission. Has been devoting his time in the voluntary sector as Honorary Secretary Indian Institute of Public Administration and has established SHERPA (Society for Himalayan Environment and Peoples Action). He has authored more than 47 books on Environment, Economy, Industrial Development, Power Sector, Administrative reforms etc.

Akhilesh Rai
(B.Tech, IIT, Kanpur) - Founder President

Founded Futurearth with a vision to make it work with a missionary zeal but following the practices of corporate management. Has long years of experience at senior positions as General Manager Hindustan Aeronautics Ltd. and later as Managing Director - India of TI Group, UK. Presently Chairman of Bundy India, an MNC and advisor to few other industrial houses. He had introduced innovative environmental practices in factories and townships through voluntary participation. An exponent of recycling, he has built his own house largely with recycled materials.

Devi Kant Shukla
(B.Tech, IIT, Kanpur) - Financial Controller and Treasurer

Retired as Chief General Manager, State Bank of India with successful tenures in Micro Credit, Industrial Finance, and Credit Policy. Was also Corporate Head, SBI Management Development function. He has set up a private Charitable Trust and is working on water conservation in a village in District Lakhimpur and on education of children of migrant labour at Lucknow


Dr. S.S. Agarwal
(MD-Hons, FRCPC)

Was Director, Sanjay Gandhi Post Graduate Institute, Lucknow and subsequently Director Advanced Centre for Treatment, Research and Education in Cancer at Tata Memorial Centre, Bombay. Currently INSA Senior Scientist, CDRI Lucknow. Has won several awards and distinctions including the prestigious SS Bhatnagar Award in Medical Sciences and Vigyan Ratna of UP. Has special interesting clinical research, drug trials, ethics and genomics.


Madhu Bhatnagar

As Environment Educator, she had charted out an Environment Education Policy long before the Supreme Court ordered it. She has been working relentlessly on a whole host of campaigns including rainwater harvesting system, zero garbage zones, grey water recycling and movement among children against paint brushes using mongoose hair. She mentors the Junior Tiger Task Force, which she helped formulate. She was awarded the Delhi Chief Minister's Best Water Harvestor Award (2006) and Sanctuary - ABN AMRO award for Green Teacher for the year (2005).

Narendra Kumar
(B.Tech, IIT, Kanpur)

Held several senior assignments in the field of management, his last assignment being the President of Indian Petrochemicals Corporation Ltd. (A Reliance Group Company). Earlier he was the Managing Director of India Polyfibres Ltd. Presently he is a Consultant to Reliance Industries Ltd. His background in Chemical/ Synthetic Fibre industry has given him special insight into environment and industrial pollution issues. He was actively involved in Energy Conservation, Waste Management, Water and Air Pollution, Waste Recycling etc. during his tenure with various organisations.


Smt Mohini Mangalik
(MA - IT College, Lucknow)

After retiring as Senior Reader in English and Modern European languages from Lucknow University, she has devoted her time to pursue social activism on different issues such as gender, environment and animal welfare. Presently serving on Executive Board of Awadh Degree College and Nari Siksha Niketan and is Vice President of Sanjhi Duniya.


Home | Mission | Leadership | Programs | How can you help | Contact Us

Futurearth is a not for profit organisation and is governed by Indian Societies Registration Act
Copyright 2007 Futurearth. All rights reserved.